Buhari Picks New Team to Renegotiate FG – ASUU Agreement

Mallam Adamu Adamu


PRESIDENT Muhammadu Buhari has approved a 14-member federal government team to renegotiate the 2009 agreement with unions in federal universities, federal polytechnics and federal colleges of education in order to ensure sustainable peace and industrial harmony in the nation’s tertiary institutions.

Adamu Adamu, minister of Education, in a statement issued by the ministry in Abuja on Friday, January 6, said the renegotiation team would dialogue with the Academic Staff Union of Universities, ASUU; Senior Staff Association of Nigerian Universities, SSANU; National Association of Academic Technologists, NAAT, and Non Academic Staff Union of Associated & Allied Institutions, NASU.

The new team is headed by Wale Babalakin, a Senior Advocate of Nigeria, SAN. Babalakin, who was adjudged the best pro-chancellor at the time of the negotiations in 2009, headed the agreement implementation committee then.

The government team comprises the following:

Wale Babalakin, SAN, Chairman.

M.M. Jibril, pro-chancellor, Federal University, Lafia

Nimi Briggs, pro-chancellor, Federal University, Lokoja

Gbemisola Saraki, a senator, pro-chancellor, Federal University, Otuoke

Lawrence Ngbale, pro-chancellor, Federal University, Birnin Kebbi

Prince Alex Mbata, pro-chancellor, Imo State University, Owerri

Olufemi Bamiro, pro-chancellor, Tai Solarin University of Education, Ijagun

Representatives, Federal Ministry of Education

Representative, Federal Ministry of Labour & Employment

Representative, Federal Ministry of Finance

Representative, Federal Ministry of Justice

Representative, Federal Ministry of Budget & National Planning

Representative of the National Salaries, Incomes & Wages Commission (NSIWC)

Representative of the Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (OSGF)

Also, Buhari has also approved the reconstitution of the governing councils of the University of Port Harcourt and the Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile Ife, which were dissolved following the recent crises that engulfed the two institutions.

The new governing councils would serve for a term of four years, in the first instance, effective from December 28, 2016.

—  Jan 16, 2017 @ 01:00 GMT



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here