Ministry of Sports Names Committees for Federation Polls


THE ministry of sports have named the committees to conduct the national sports federation elections. The elections will take place in Abuja, on June 13, and the ministry has decided to set up a three-man electoral committee for each of the 31 national federations.

The lists released by Nneka Anibeze, special adviser on media to the  minister on Thursday, May 11, named Kelani Mohammed as head of the Athletic Federation of Nigeria’s electoral committee with Toni Urhobo, former president, AFN, and Bamidele  Elijah as  members.

Yakubu Rimdan, leads the Nigeria Basketball Federation electoral committee with Bashir Mohammed and Ray Attelley as members. Baba Sheshi was named the chairman of the boxing electoral committee with Alfred Abbah and Toyin Obisaki as members.

For lawn tennis, Bruce Ugbode is the chairman while Abubakar  Zarto and Garba Ahmed are members; table tennis has Hafiz Mohammed as chairman with Meyena Nkwo and Ugo Okeke as members. Ishaya Habu is the head of the wrestling federation electoral body with Nasiru Gwallaga and Saliu Omotosho as members, while volleyball has Sonny Moniedafe as chairman with  Bolcit Barshep and Ali Barakati as members.

Sani Fema was appointed the leader of the weightlifting poll body with Jasper Adeleye and Daniel Kanu as members while Victor Odoeme as  chairman with  Baba Kawu and Kingsley Ojo were saddled with the responsibility of conducting the taekwondo federation poll.

Abraham Ehruemen (chairman), Sani Fema and Rotimi Samson are to conduct the handball federation election, while Godwin Ashikeni (chairman), Abdulrahaman Mohammed and Idris Abdullahi are the official of the golf federation poll. Badminton has Kefas Lar (chairman), Ibrahim Yusuf and Melody Ogundigi as members, with chess has John Daddi  (chairman), Abubakar Barde and Kingsley Ojo as members

Barnabas Ejogu will conduct the cricket federation election alongside Gambo Akanya and Juliet Julius. Nasiru Suleiman (chairman) with Fred Achem and Zim Jacob are the electoral officers for cycling while Ibrahim Tanko (chairman), Andy Gabriel and Kene Agbodike  will conduct the gymnastics election.

The judo federation poll will be conducted by Tochi Ezeoku (chairman), Ibrahim Adamu and Idris Adamu, while Kabiru Sani (chairman), Honor Sirawo and Ishaya Abu are the umpires for the hockey federation election. Nura Danmumuni (chairman), Bisola Osilaja and Sanco Eze are the umpires for the squash federation poll, while Tor Iorapu heads the aquatics federation poll’s body alongside Musa Othman and Murtala Mamser.

Scrabble has Amina Afegbua (chairman), Jimmy George and Yusuf Maianguwa as electoral officials, while Austin Chigbolu (chairman), Khalid Bisalla and Aminu Jamo will be in charge of the karate federation election. Rugby federation has Oyebanji Andy (chairman), Sanusi Biyadi and Tukur Zaga, while David  Ashebu (chairman), Amos Duniya and Bimbo Sowoolu will oversee the shooting federation poll.

Solomon Dalung, minister of sports, advised the committees to shun corrupt practices. Dalung said, “The ministry is determined to deliver democratically elected national federations, which will move sports to the next level. In achieving this, we are guided by rules and regulations that are not only limited to us but inspired by international best practices.”

  • May 22, 2017 @ 1:00 GMT


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here