4 pro-democracy lawmakers disqualified from Hong Kong parliament


Four pro-democracy lawmakers on Wednesday lost their seats through disqualification, after a resolution passed by the National People’s Congress Standing Committee (NPCSC).

The new resolution imposed by NPCSC states that any legislator who supports or promotes independence or refuse to acknowledge China’s sovereignty over the semi-autonomous region should be disqualified from sitting in Hong Kong parliament or Legislative Council (LegCo).

Those grounds comprise two of the things which violate the new national security law that targets secession, subversion, terrorism and collusion with foreign forces.

Those disqualified included former deputy chairman of the House Committee, Dennis Kwok and the lawmakers Alvin Yeung, Kwok Ka-ki and Kenneth Leung.

Rumours of the disqualification on Monday resulted in 19 pan-democratic lawmakers saying they’d resign en masse if Beijing imposed the rule.

Speaking after the disqualification, Kwok said he had been criticised for his handling of a meeting at the House Committee, and threatened with disqualification, that was back in May.

“At the time, I said I was exercising my powers and functions under the rules of procedure, and to observe due process, which I believe is an important principle of the Hong Kong society,’’ Kwok said according to broadcaster Radio Television Hong Kong (RTHK).

In May LegCo descended into chaos when an argument broke out over who would chair a meeting of the House Committee.

President of the Legislative Council Andrew Leung sought legal advice over the matter after accusing Kwok, then deputy chair, of filibustering.

By June 30, Beijing had gazette a new national security law into an annex of Hong Kong’s own Basic Law. (dpa/NAN)

– Nov. 11, 2020 @ 13:55 GMT |

Click Banner for Details