ADC will participate in Ondo LG election – Chairman


The new Ondo State Chairman, African Democratic Congress (ADC) in Mr Bisi Ogungbemi, says the party will participate in the Dec. 1 local government polls in the state.

Ogungbemi stated this at the end of the party congress and election of new executives at the secretariat of the party on Monday in Akure.

He said ADC would participate in the election to win and defeat the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) in the state.

Ogungbemi said that the present government in the state had not performed to the expectation of the people.

“We are ready to dislodge the Oluwarotimi Akeredolu-led government because the government lacks vision, focus and zeal to turn the state around,“ he said.

Ogungbemi assured members of the party that a level playing field would be provided for aspirants vying for various elective positions in the party.

He, however, stressed that, “there is no automatic ticket for any aspirant in our party, they must all slug it out in line with the constitution of the party.”

The chairman called on the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to find lasting solution to voters’ inducement, a development he said was gradually becoming a norm in the nation electoral system.

According to the chairman and other executives, who emerged through a voice vote, if the trend is not urgently addressed, Nigeria may be turned into a banana republic.

Ogungbemi described a banana republic as instance where criminals take centre stage in governance.

He further urged the electoral body to do everything possible to discourage vote- buying in the September 22 governorship election in Osun.

“It is sad that vote-buying is now the order of the day in our electoral system. Nigeria is doomed if this trend continues

“INEC should rise up to the occasion and make sure that this does not work in Osun. Vote buying is a criminal act that must be treated as such.

“The Federal Government should put in place a law that will criminalise vote- buying to ensure those peoples’ votes count,” he said. (NAN)

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the elected members of the executive are; Mr Obakpolor Jephter, Secretary, Adewi Samuel, Treasurer and Omoegun Adams, Financial secretary. (NAN)

– Sept. 3, 2018 @ 15:47 GMT |

Click Banner for Details