Akeredolu reconstitutes task force on farmers in govt’s forest reserves


GOV. Oluwarotimi Akeredolu of Ondo State has approved the reconstitution of the Task Force on farmers in the government’s forest reserves in the state.

The state Commissioner for Agriculture, Mr Adegboyega Adefarati, disclosed in a statement made available to newsmen on Friday in Akure by the ministry’s Public Relations Officer, Bolu Ajijo.

According to Adefarati, the reconstitution is part of deliberate efforts to ensure farmers in the government’s forest reserves across the state imbibe best practices in their operations.

“The 21-man task force is expected to live above board. Unlike the disbanded task force, the current one is constituted on the basis of the three senatorial districts that make up the state, and each with its team leader.

“The team leaders for the north and central senatorial districts, which are made of six members each, are Mr Deji Ogunbodede and Mr Akinrotoye Bonsue respectively, while the South Senatorial District, with five members, is to be led by Mr Aliu Olalekan.

“Other members are Mr Ogundipe Amos, the Task Force Coordinator, Mr Akintujoye Jones, representative of the ministry of natural resources, while a deputy director in the ministry of agriculture will serve as the desk officer for the team,” Adefarati said.

According to the commissioner, the new task force, which is expected to commence operation immediately, will formally be inaugurated on Jan. 20. (NAN)

– Jan. 17, 2020 @ 12:49 GMT |

Click Banner for Details