Culture commissioner to chair Chief F. C. Ogbalu 11th Memorial Lecture 

Mr. Don Onyenji

By Ifeyinwa Ogwo

ANAMBRA State Commissioner for Culture, Entertainment and Tourism, Mr. Don Onyenji has been called to chair the 11th memorial lecture of Chief F.C. Ogbalu at the Faculty of Arts, Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka.

Chief Ogbalu was a renowned Igbo scholar and Igbo language Proponent.

The memorial lecture with the theme, “Security and Nigeria’s Economy: Reflection from the Igbo Land” will hold on Tuesday, January 24, 2023 at 11:00 am.

Receiving the committee in his office in Awka, the commissioner commended their efforts in celebrating the renowned scholar.

He urged them to make available some of Chief F.C Ogbalu’s Igbo books for distribution to the invited secondary school students at the lecture.

“It will be nice to give out some of his textbooks to students to maintain and sustain his ideas in the minds of the students even after the memorial lecture.

“Also, you should reintroduce his books into the school curriculum through the Ministry of Education to promote his lifetime devotion at sustaining the Igbo language and culture,’’ he said.

The commissioner, then, assured the guests of the ministry’s readiness to continue in the promotion of the Igbo culture and to create an entertainment hub which would attract tourists into the state.

Earlier in his speech, the Co-Chairman of the Ogbalu Memorial Lecture Organizing Committee, Prof. George Onwudiwe noted that the visit was to invite the commissioner to chair their programme and as well brief him on the organization’s profiles.

“Chief F.C. Ogbalu’s memorial lecture is an annual event organized by the University to immortalize him for his contributions to Igbo studies, which is the advancement of the Igbo language and culture,’’ he said.

He, then, thanked the commissioner for his reception and acceptance of their offer.

Present at the meeting were; the Dean Faculty of Arts, Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Prof. Greg Obiamalu; the Chairperson, Ogbalu Memorial Lecture Committee, Dr. Gladys Udechukwu; the Secretary, Ogbalu Memorial Lecture Committee, Orji Ethel Odinakachi and others.