Delta Commissioner expresses satisfaction over students’ turnout


Chief Patrick Ukah, Delta Commissioner for Basic and Secondary Education, has expressed satisfaction with the level of teachers and student’s compliance as SSS 3 students in the state resumes.

Ukah said in a statement on Wednesday that he had visited some schools to ascertain the level of turnout of students and teachers’ compliance with the COVID-19 preventive measures.

According to him, the enthusiasm shown by the students indicated that they were happy to return to schools to prepare for their examinations.

“All students and teachers must always wear their face masks and undergo temperature checks at the entrance of their schools daily.

“In no distant time, JSS 3 students will resume to begin preparation for their Basic Certificate Examination.

“I enjoined teachers to immediately embark on revision classes with the students that have resumed,” he said.

The commissioner also urged the teachers to shun laxity and redouble their commitments toward impacting positively on children.

“It is only SSS 3 students that resumed on Tuesday, but the resumption dates for JSS 3 students and primary six pupils will be made public in due course.

“A minimum of five minutes break in between classes should be given to the students,” he said.

Ukah said that a five-member committee had been put in place in all the local government areas to monitor compliance with the COVID-19 protocols in schools.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the commissioner and his team visited Government Model Secondary School; Westend Mixed Secondary School and St. Patrick’s College.

Other schools visited include: Asagba Mixed Secondary School; Osadenis Mixed Secondary School and Isioma Onyeobi College, all in Asaba and Oshimili South Local Government Area.

They also visited Trinity College; St. Augustine’s College; Ibusa Mixed Secondary School; Omu Boys Secondary School, all in Ibusa, and Okpanam High School, Okpanam.

“Adaigbo Secondary School, Ogwuashi-Uku, Aniocha South Local Government Area. (NAN)

– Aug. 05, 2020 @ 13:08 GMT |

Click Banner for Details