Edo election: Obaseki, Ize-yamu win at polling units

Obaseki and Ize-Iyamu

RESULTS trickling in from the Edo State governorship election show that both Governor Godwin Obaseki and Osagie Ize-Iyamu, candidate of the All Progressive Congress, APC, won at the wards while the laters wife lost at her polling unit.

Professor Idia Ize-Iyamu, wife of Osagie, on Saturday, lost her polling unit to Obaseki of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP.

The PDP got 109 votes while APC received 40 out of a total of 154 persons accredited to vote at the Staff Training School Ward 2 PU 2 G.R.A Benin City where she voted.

At the end of the election, the Independent National Electoral Commission adhoc staff, who conducted the election counted the votes and the results were as follows.
Oredo ward 2 PU 2; 154 accredited voters
Void votes: 3; PDP: 109; APC: 40.

Realnews reports that Prof. Ize-Iyamu shares the same unit with the current Attorney-General and Commissioner for Justice, Professor Yinka Omoregie.

Also, Obaseki, at his polling unit in Oredo Ward 4, Unit 19, polled 184 votes while Osagie of All Progressives Congress, APC, secured 62 votes at the unit.

In Unit 21, PDP got 53 votes while the APC polled 33 votes.

Obaseki’s PDP polled 70 votes against Ize-Iyamu’s APC of 65 votes. In Unit 23, it was PDP 101 while APC 32.

In Unit 24 of the same Oredo Ward 4, PDP won with 94 votes, while the APC got 50 votes.

In Unit 25, the PDP got 33 votes ahead of the APC that had 22 votes.

Result from the ward, Unit 26 indicates that APC scored 40 votes while the PDP got 98 votes.

In Unit 7, it is the PDP, 93 votes, APC 28 votes, while in Unit 28, it is PDP, 77 votes, and APC, 39 votes.

Voting ended in most of the areas at 2.30 pm.

Realnews reports that Osagie won his polling unit at Ward 5, Iguododo community in Orhionwon Local Government Area with 292 votes while Obaseki got 21 votes.

Obaseki won in the polling unit of John Odigie-Oyegun, former national chairman of the APC.

Obaseki got 109 votes against Ize-Iyamu’s 40.

– Sept 19, 2020 @ 8:07 GMT /

Click Banner for Details