Umahi appoints two immediate past commissioners as UBEB members

Dave Umahi
Dave Umahi

TWO Immediate past commissioners in Ebonyi have been appointed members of the Ebonyi Universal Basic Education Board (UBEB) members.

Chief Sabinus Nwankwagu and Mrs Euphemia Nwali, immediate past Commissioners for Education and Water Resources respectively, were nominated by Gov. David Umahi for the position and screened by the state House of Assembly.

This was contained in a statement signed on Friday by Mr Tony Nwizi, Media Assistant to the House of Assembly Speaker.

He said that the 12-member UBEB board were successfully cleared by the House.

The statement revealed that Chief Hycinth Ikpor, a Former Commissioner for Education was retained as the board’s Chairman.

Mr Nicodemus Omenka, a former Commissioner for Youth Development and Sports and incumbent Secretary, also retained his position.

Mr Leonard Nkah, state Chairman, Nigerian Labour Congress (NLC) and the Secretary, Mr Chukwuma Onwe,were also confirmed as representatives in the board.

“Mr Nwanne Onu, Mrs Beatrice Echiegu, Mrs Eucharia Ofia-Nwali, Mrs Nnenna Otuonye, Mr Francis Elechi and Mrs Adaeze Akochi were also confirmed to serve in the board,” the statement read. (NAN)

– July 19, 2019 @ 14:27 GMT |

(Visited 28 times, 1 visits today)