Kano beat Nasarawa 1-0 to win 2020 World Polio Para-soccer championship

Kano State on Saturday emerged winners, for the sixth time, of the 2020 World polio Para-soccer championship.
Kano defeated their counterparts Nasarawa 1-0 in their final match played at the Old Parade ground, Abuja, on Saturday.
Muhammed Otega scored the only goal of the match in the 18th minute of the game.
The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that although the Nasarawa players fought hard, they could not cancel the deficit.
Ibrahim Musa, the head coach of the Kano team, said he was not expecting anything but a win. “We are the heart of Para-soccer in Nigeria. This is the eighth edition of the world polio championship and we have won six times.
“I praise my players for this wonderful job.  We will continue to win any competition in Para-soccer, ” he boasted.
Muhammed Bello, the Nasarawa coach, said he was happy with the performance of his team.
” My players played well. They fought well, but we will go back to prepare for the next edition so that we will lift the trophy,” he said.
In the third-place match, Katsina beat Yobe 2-1 in a penalty shootout after the match ended 0-0 in regulation time.
The eighth edition of the World Polio Day National Para-soccer tournament was held from Wednesday to Saturday
ass part of activities making this year’s World Polio Day. (NAN)

Oct 25  2020 @ 00:03 GMT

Click Banner for Details