National Assembly: We aren’t in a hurry to release zoning formula – APC


THE All Progressives Congress, APC, has said it was not in a hurry to release a comprehensive zoning formula for the leadership positions meant for the ruling party in the National Assembly.

The party’s National Publicity Secretary, Mr Lanre Issa-Onilu, stated this in an interview with our correspondent. He said consultation on the arrangement was still ongoing.

When told that the delay was making lawmakers-elect across political zones show interests in different positions and may be difficult for them to drop their ambitions when the formula was finally released, Issa-Onilu said the party was not exercising any fear in that regard.

He said the party did not envisage any problem because the lawmakers-elect were part of the ongoing consultation that would produce the formula.

The party’s spokesman said, “We are not in a hurry to release the zoning formula.

“There will be no problem. The lawmakers-elect are part of the party and they are also part of the ongoing consultation on the matter.

“That means that by the time we are coming out with the arrangement, none of them will be shocked. They are part of the consultation.”

The leadership of the APC had earlier announced the current Senate Leader, Ahmed Lawan, as its choice for the post of the President of the Senate in the Ninth National Assembly.

It, however, said the zoning formula for the remaining positions meant for the party with the majority in the Senate and those in the House of Representatives would be announced later.

Although it has yet to make a pronouncement on the matter, it is believed that the party may back the Majority Leader of the House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila, for the position of the Speaker in the Ninth Assembly.

Both Lawan and Gbajabiamila were the party’s choices for the two positions in 2015 before Bukola Saraki and Yakubu Dogara emerged the President of the Senate and Speaker respectively, against the zoning formula. – Punch

– Apr. 9, 2019 @ 14:07 GMT |

Click Banner for Details