African Scientific Research council elects new chairman

2 weeks ago | 88

African Scientific Research and innovation Council

THE African Scientific Research and innovation Council (ASRIC) has elected Prof. Moustapha Bousmina from Morocco as the new chairman.

Bousmina emerged as the chairman after the election of new Bureau members at the fourth African Scientific Research and innovation Council (ASRIC) congress on Wednesday in Nairobi.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that 11 countries were represented as voting members.

The new chairman will be taking over from Prof. Ratemo Michieka of Morocco who was elected as the first chairman of the council during its inauguration in 2018.

The election also saw Prof. Elijah Wanda of Malawi and Dr Amos Nungu of Tanzania emerge as first and second vice chairmen, while Prof. Vincent Tijani of Cameroon and Prof. Ekanem Braide of Nigeria, emerged as third and fourth vice-chairmen respectively.

NAN also reports that Bousmina is a physical-chemist and Rheologist working on nano-materials and nanotechnology.

He is the President, Euro-Mediterranean University of Morocco and Technology and President, Network of African Academies of Sciences.

He is member at large of the Polymer Processing Society, member of the World Academy of Sciences, and of the African Academy of Sciences.

This is the second election of the Bureau.

The newly elected officials are expected to implement ASRIC policies which will advance scientific research and innovation across the continent


- Nov. 24, 2021 @ 18:08 GMT |

Readers Comments

0 comment

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

Related stories

Recommended for you...

From Twitter