Buhari makes 26 new appointments

4 years ago | 56

PRESIDENT Muhammadu Buhari has forwarded names of 26 new appointees to the Senate for confirmation. In separate letters, the president asked the Senate to confirm Festus Okoye as national commissioner for the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC. Okoye is among 26 new appointees the president wrote, in separate letters, to the Senate for confirmation. Buhari’s request on Okoye was contained in a letter read by Bukola Saraki, the Senate president, shortly before the Senate adjourned plenary on Tuesday, April 10. “In accordance with the provision of section 154(1) of the 1999 constitution as amended, I rise to forward to the distinguished senators the name of Barrister Festus Okoye for confirmation as National Commissioner representing South-east geo-political zone. “While hoping that this request will receive the usual expeditious consideration, please accept Mr President the assurances of my highest regard,” the letter said. Okoye, an indigene of Imo State, is the executive director, Human Rights Monitor, and a lawyer. In other letters sent to the Senate, Buhari also sought the confirmation of 23 members of National Population Commission and two none lawyers as members of Federal Judicial Service Commission. They are Abba Ali (Katsina-North west) and Mohammed Sagir (Niger-North central). The 23 nominees for the National Population Commission are; Nwanne Johnny Nwabuisi (Abia), Dr Clifford Zirra (Adamawa), Chidi Christopher Ezeoke (Anambra), Isa Audu Buratai (Borno), Charles Iyam Ogwa, a Navy Captain (Cross River), Richard Odibo (Delta), Okereke Darlington Onaubuchi (Ebonyi) and A.D. Olusegun Aiyajina (Edo). Others are, Ejike Ezeh (Enugu), Abubakar Mohammed Danburam (Gombe), Uba S.F. Nnabue (Imo), Abdulmalik Mohammed Durunguwa (Kaduna), Sulaiman Ismaila Lawal (Kano), Jimoh Habibat Isah (Kogi), Sa’adu Ayinla Alanamu (Kwara), Nasir Isa kwarra (Nasarawa). Also nominated are: Aliyu Datti (Niger), Seyi Adererinokun Olusanya (Ogun), Oladiran Garvey Iyantan (Ondo), Mudashiru Oyetunde Hussain (Osun), Cecilia Arsun Dapoet (Plateau), Ipalibo Macdonald Harry (Rivers), Sale S. Saany (Taraba).

Readers Comments

0 comment

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

Related stories

Recommended for you...

From Twitter