Saraki Elected Senate President

7 years ago | 53


THE eighth Senate this morning elected Bukola Saraki, a senator from Kwara State, as Senate president. The election of Saraki, a former governor of Kwara State, was unanimous.

Saraki, a member of the All Progressives Congress, APC, defeated Ahmed Lawan, an APC preferred candidate, to emerge the Senate president.

[caption id="attachment_30849" align="alignright" width="237"]Ekweremadu Ekweremadu[/caption]

He was nominated by Sani Yerima and seconded by Dino Melaye, a senator from Kogi State.

Ike Ekweremadu, immediate past deputy Senate president and senator from Enugu State, was been re-elected.

Ekweremadu of the opposition Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, was nominated by Abie Sekibo from Rivers State.

—  Jun 9, 2015 @ 11:40 GMT



Readers Comments

0 comment

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

Related stories

Recommended for you...

From Twitter