AU Targets Four Cities to Host AFRIMA 3.0 in Nigeria

5 years ago | 34


THE African Union Commission, AUC, and the international committee of the All Africa Music Awards, AFRIMA, have earmarked four cities in Nigeria to host the third edition of the AFRIMA which holds in November 2016. This was disclosed at just concluded 27th AU Summit in Kigali, Rwanda on July 17, 2016. The four cities targeted as potential hosts for the continental awards ceremony are, Calabar (Cross River State), Lagos (Lagos State), Port Harcourt (Rivers State) and Uyo (Akwa Ibom State).

The AU’s interest emanated from the visions of these four states in promoting and preserving Africa’s rich culture while also inspiring African youths. The Commissioner for Social Affairs, AUC, Mustapha Sidiki Kaloko said, “The main purpose of the Host City partnership is to showcase the tourism and economic potential of one of the great cities in Africa and promote its strengths to global audience which in turn adds to the GDP of the state and the continent at large.”

While urging the considered cities to passionately vie for hosting privileges, the AUC official pointed out the immense advantages for the host city which include ‘long term investment and job creation; adoption of new benchmarks for city development; increased civic pride and community empowerment; increased tourism and publicity. “Ultimately, there is an opportunity to tap into the millions of participants and followers of the booming African music,” said Kaloko.

Also, AFRIMA Director of Sponsorship/Communication, Matlou Tsotetsi, explained that these four states are capable of creating global brand equity for Africa. She said, “The host city will be one that is willing to create value and deep brand equity not only for Nigerians but Africans. It must have the most motivation to host AFRIMA in line with its values; have the strongest vision in tourism, culture and entertainment; have the most adequate facilities, surrounding infrastructure, security and tourist attraction to host the event and should have hosted successful events in the past that attracted both national and or global audiences.”

AFRIMA in partnership with the AUC opened submission of entries for this year’s edition of the continental awards on Monday, May 30, 2016. Music professionals of African origin including artistes, songwriters, video directors, music/entertainment journalists and music producers’ resident on the continent or abroad are eligible to enter in any of the 33 award categories and entry submission closes on Saturday, July 30, 2016. Works to be submitted must be produced in the year under review.

—  Jul 27, 2016 @ 17:00 GMT


Readers Comments

0 comment

No comments yet. Be the first to post comment.

Related stories

Recommended for you...

From Twitter