Ogun Speaker calls for free, credible LG polls as lawmakers screen SIEC nominees

OLAKUNLE Oluomo, speaker of Ogun House of Assembly,

OLAKUNLE Oluomo, speaker of Ogun House of Assembly,  has urged the State’s Independent Electoral Commission, OGSIEC, to ensure free, fair and credible local government elections in the state when conducted.

Oluomo gave the advice during the screening of the nominees at the assembly complex at Oke-Mosan in Abeokuta on Thursday.

The speaker said that the nominees were expected to justify the confidence reposed in them by being transparent, fair and just too all concerned stakeholders during the local government elections.

He said by doing so, the members of the commission would gain trust of the public.

The speaker said that strengthening the nation’s electoral process at the local government level will depend on the sustainability of transparent and  the all-inclusive electoral policies that the SIEC  would put in place.

He urged the nominees to allow for an enabling environment and a level-playing field for all would- be contending political parties and contestants to freely exercise their franchise.

Oluomo  urged  them to entrench democratic practices toward restoring confidence that would engender people to  have faith  in the electoral process at the grassroots level,  irrespective of political affiliations.

The speaker  commended Gov. Dapo Abiodun for the selection of people with vast experience in electoral matters, public administration, education as well as Information and Communication Technology experts as nominees of OGSIEC.

The Chairman-designate, Mr Babatunde Osibodu, responding on behalf of  the other nominees harped on the importance of independence of the electoral body.

Osibodu assured the lawmakers that the commission would   ensure credible values , by bringing in probity and excellent service delivery.

He said that credible elections  would be the hallmark  of the commission toward retaining the state as a model for others.

Other nominees screened by the lawmakers  are:  Messers Olatunji Akoni,  Tajudeen Omolaja, Ayodele Bankole and Mrs. Gbemi Onasanya.


Feb. 25, 2021 @ 9:02 GMT

Click Banner for Details