Dogara Names Heads of House Committees



YAKUBU Dogara, speaker of the House of Representatives, on Thursday, October 22, unveiled the list of chairpersons and vice chairpersons of the special and standing committees of the House.

According to Dogara, there are now 96 committees in the House. Based on the new appointments, 48 members of the All Progressives Congress, APC, were appointed chairpersons while 46 members of the opposition Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, were also appointed, heading committees of the House.

One member each from the Social Democratic Party, SDP, and the All Progressives Grand Alliance, APGA, secured committee leadership positions

For the deputy chairpersons’ positions, the APC received 54, while the PDP got 38.

According analysts, the composition of the committees shows that Dogara took great care to compensate members who supported him to become speaker.

For instance, Abdulmumin Jibrin, who had also wanted the speakership but later withdrew to lead Dogara’s campaign, was made chairman of the committee on appropriation, regarded as the “juiciest.”

Mohammed Zakari, another loyalist of Dogara clinched the chairmanship of the committee on basic education, a significant committee, in the House.

Leading supporters of, Femi Gbajabiamila, majority leader, the duo of James Faleke and Rufai Chachangi, emerged chairman and vice chairman of Customs and Excise Committee, respectively.

The two APC members from the South-East, Chike Okafor and Austin Chukwukere, were made chairpersons of Healthcare Services and vice chairman, Finance, respectively.

Others appointed to head committees are: Herman Hembe (Federal Capital Territory); Aminu Shehu Shagari (Federal Judiciary); Garba Mohammed (Solid Minerals); Adeyinka Ajayi (Aids, Loans and Debt Management); Nkiruka Onyejiocha (Aviation); Linus Okorie (Agricultural Colleges and Institutions); Betty Apiafi (Health Institutions); and Tobi Okechukwu (Works).

The leadership of the most important committee conventionally available to the leading opposition in the House, Public Accounts, went to Kingsley Chinda (PDP-Rivers State).

Those who retained the leaderships of their previous committees are Nnena Ukeje (Foreign Affairs); Jones Onyeriri (Banking and Currency); Nkiruka Onyejiocha (Aviation); Mohammed Munguno (Agriculture); Shehu Shagari (Judiciary); Nicholas Mutu (NDDC); and Aminu Suleiman (Education, Tertiary).

— Nov 2, 2015 @ 01:00 GMT


(Visited 8 times, 1 visits today)