Jega, Six National Commissioners Bow Out



ATTAHIRU Jega, chairman, the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, and six national commissioners of the Commission are to vacate their offices on Tuesday, June 30, following the expiration of their five-year tenure. Former President Goodluck Jonathan had appointed Jega and the six INEC commissioners the same in 2010.

A statement issued by the Public Affairs Department of the INEC gave the names of the affected commissioners as M. K. Hammanga, a retired colonel, Adamawa State (North East); Ishmael Jikiri Igbani, Rivers State (South South); Lai Olurode, Osun State (South West); Gladys Nne Nwafor, Abia State (South East); Thelma Amata Iremiren, Delta State (South South); and Engr. Nuru Yakubu, Yobe State (North East). Jega himself hails from Kebbi State.

Similarly, four other national commissioners are expected to equally leave the commission in July and August this year. They are Abdulkadir Oniyangi, Kwara State (North Central) and Amina Bala Zakari, Jigawa State (North West) whose tenure will expire on July 2, while Chris Iyimoga, Nasarawa State (North Central) and Mohammed Wali, Sokoto State (North West) will complete their tenure on August 11.

In a related development, 16 resident electoral commissioners, RECs, whose tenures had expired, left the commission last week. They were Ahmad Makama, Bauchi State; Haliru Tambuwal, Sokoto State; Abdullahi Danyaya, Niger State; Abubakar Wara, Kebbi State; Mike Igini, Delta State; Selina Oko, Ebonyi State; Hussaini Mahuta, Katsina State.

Others were A. L. Ogunmola, Oyo State; Ibrahim Zarewa, Kano State; Tukur Sa’ad, Adamawa State; Emmanuel Onucheyo, Kogi State; Kassim Gana Gaidam, Yobe State; Timothy Ibitoye, Osun State; Amb. Rufus Akeju, Lagos State; C. E. Onukaogu, Abia State and Ibrahim Bagobiri Marafa, Zamfara State.

The statement further reassured that despite the depletion of the commission as a result of the progressive expiration of the tenures of national commissioners, its operations would continue normally because it could always form a quorum.

— Jul 6, 2015 @ 01:00 GMT


(Visited 16 times, 1 visits today)
Click Banner for Details