PDP Raises Campaign Teams for Kogi, Bayelsa Elections

Olisa Metuh


THE National Working Committee, NWC, of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, has set up national campaign committees for the forthcoming gubernatorial elections in Kogi and Bayelsa states, slated for November 21 and December 5, respectively.

A statement issued by Olisa Metuh, national publicity secretary of the PDP, said Ike Ekweremadu, deputy Senate president, would to lead the Kogi State campaign committee as chairman while Walid Jibril, secretary of the PDP Board of Trustees, BoT, would serve as deputy chairman and Victor Kwon, national legal adviser of the party, serves as secretary.

Also on the Kogi committee are David Mark, former Senate president, seven PDP state governors and other key stakeholders as members.

To lead the Bayelsa State campaign committees chairman is Bello Haliru Mohammed, acting BoT chairman. His deputy is Emeka Ihedioha, former deputy speaker of the House of Representatives, while Onwe Solomon Onwe, deputy national secretary of the party, serves as secretary.

Other members of the Bayelsa committee include Godswill Akpabio, Senate minority leader, Leo Ogor, House minority leader, four PDP state governors and other critical stakeholders.

The NWC also approved that all state chairmen, senators and members of the House of Representatives from the respective zones of the two states would serve as automatic members of the committees.

According to the statement, the date for the national flag-off the gubernatorial campaigns in the two states would be announced in due course.

The NWC urged all PDP members, particularly those in the two states to remain committed and continue to work hard for the success of the party in the governorship elections.

The PDP is fielding Idris Wada and Seriake Dickson, incumbent governors in Kogi and Bayelsa states, respectively in the governorship elections.

— Oct 19, 2015 @ 01:00 GMT


(Visited 2 times, 1 visits today)