Buhari appoints New Head of Service, extends Tenure of 7 Permanent Secretaries

Folashade Yemi-Esan takes over from Winifred Ekanem Oyo-Ita as the new acting head of service.
PRESIDENT Muhammadu Buhari has approved the appointment of Folashade Yemi-Esan as the acting head of the Civil Service of the Federation with immediate effect.

Yemi-Esan, who is the permanent secretary, ministry of petroleum resources takes over from  Winifred Ekanem Oyo-Ita, who has been directed to proceed on an indefinite leave to allow conclusion of the investigation being carried out by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission.

Buhari has also approved the extension of the tenure of seven retiring permanent secretaries for a period of one calendar year with effect from October 1, to ensure stability in the federal civil service and effective delivery on the nine priority areas of the administration as well as the mandates given to the new ministers.

The affected permanent secretaries are Georgina Ehuriah, ministry of interior; Ifeoma I. Anagbogu,     ministry of women affairs; Grace Gekpe, ministry of information and culture; Umar M. Bello,      federal ministry of agriculture and rural development; Suleiman Mustapha Lawal, ministry of foreign affairs; Comfort C. Ekaro, federal ministry of water resources and Olusegun A. Adekunle,           General Services Office (Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation)

Similarly, Buhari has directed the Office of the Head of the Civil Service of the Federation to commence the process for the selection of new permanent secretaries to replace all retiring permanent secretaries.

The decision of government to extend the tenure of these permanent secretaries is premised on the need to ensure that the new ministers are properly guided, briefed about their sectors and to ensure that a solid foundation is laid for the delivery on the presidential mandate which they jointly signed.

The permanent secretaries will also help the ministers to manage the process for the preparation of the 2020 Budget in line with the commitment of government to return to the January-December budget circle and help develop various policies and programmes aimed at lifting 100 million Nigerians out of poverty in the next 10 years.

The action of president is in exercise of the powers conferred under Section 171 (2) d of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (as amended).

– Sept. 19, 2019 @ 12: 04 GMT | 


(Visited 236 times, 2 visits today)