Buhari Names Six INEC, Five NPC Commissioners



PRESIDENT Muhammadu Buhari Thursday sent names of six proposed commissioners for the Independent National Electoral Commissioners, INEC, to the Senate for consideration and confirmation. The President also forwarded five names of proposed commissioners for the National Population Commission, NPC.

In a letter read by Senate President, Abubakar Bukola saraki on the floor of the Senate Thursday, President Buhari said that he was forwarding the list of names in accordance with the provision of Section 154(1) of the 1999 Constitution (as amended). President Buhari said that the appointees were made from the six geo-political zones of the country.

Those nominated included, Prof. Okechukwu Obinna Ibeanu  Anambra (member) (South East); May I. Agbamuche-Mbu (Delta) (member) South South; AVM Ahmed Tijani Mu’azu (rtd) (Gombe) member (North East); Mohammed Kudu Haruna (Niger) North Central (member); Adekunle Ladipo Ogunmola (Oyo) South West, (member); and Abubakar Ahmed Nahuche (Zamfara) North West (member).

Those appointed to serve as commissioners of the NPC included Benedict Ukpong, (Akwa Ibom) member; Gloria Fataya Izonfuo (Bayelsa) member; Kupchi Patricia Ori Iyanya (Benue) member; Haliru Bala (Kebbi) member; and Eyitayo O. Oyetunji (Oyo) member.

President Buhari asked the Senate for early consideration and confirmation of the appointments. On September 27, 2016 the Senate adopted a motion which urged the President to quickly constitute commissioners of INEC in line with extant laws. – The Nation

—  Sep 29, 2016 @ 17:00 GMT


(Visited 8 times, 1 visits today)
Click Banner for Details