Buhari Swears in New INEC Commissioners



PRESIDENT Muhammadu Buhari, on Wednesday, December 7, swore in the six newly appointed commissioners of the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC. The exercise was according to Section 154(1) of the Nigerian constitution 1999 as amended.

The commissioners had already been cleared and confirmed by the Senate. The six nominees include Ogunmola Ladipo, May Agbamuche, Abubakar Nahuche and Okechukwu Ibianu. Others are Mohammed Haruna and Ahmad Muazu. Performing the swearing-in at the Council chamber of the State House Presidential Villa, Abuja shortly before the start of the Federal Executive Council, FEC, meeting, Buhari charged the new INEC officers to ensure that all elections must be credible.

Speaking at the event, the president said: “This administration will demand of you to be firm and fair. What this administration expects is that after we have left, Nigerians will look at the political history and know that we served Nigeria. “We want every Nigeria to use his PVC processed by card reader, that they have been given the opportunity and security in their various constituencies to elect who they want to elect. The rest is left to their conscience and to God.”

Ibianu, who spoke on behalf of the other new commissioners, thanked the president and Nigerians for “the challenging opportunity to serve the country”. He said all the commissioners would uphold their oath of allegiance and office. “We ask Nigerians for support to continue to improve the advances recorded in the electoral processes so far,” he said.

The nominees’ brief profile Ladipo, who is from Oyo State was born on May 7, 1952. Until his swearing in on Wednesday, he was the Resident Independent Electoral Commission, REC, in Lagos State.

Agbamuche, a lawyer is the editor, Thisday Lawyer, a publication of Thisday Newspaper. Abubakar Nahuche from Zamfara State was born on May 19, 1953. He is a retired Army officer and a former CEO of defunct NITEL. Ibianu from Anambra State was born on November 3,1959. He is a former technical adviser to the INEC from 2010-2015.

Mohammed Haruna, a veteran journalist, hails from Niger State was born on September 22, 1951. He was an editor of New Nigerian Newspaper and former spokesperson of General Abdulsalami Abubakar, a former head of state. Ahmad Muazu, a retired Air Vice Marshall of Nigerian Air Force was born on September 6, 1967 in Gombe State.

—  Dec 7, 2016 @ 14:42 GMT


(Visited 4 times, 1 visits today)