Ekiti Assembly confirms ex-Clerk, ex-Speaker, 2 others members of FRC

Ekiti House of Assembly
Ekiti House of Assembly

EKITI House of Assembly has confirmed former Clerk in the old Ondo State, comprising Ondo and the present Ekiti, Mr Alfred Ologuntoye as the Chairman of the state Fiscal Responsibility Commission, (FRC).

The Assembly also confirmed former Speaker, Ekiti House of Assembly, Mr Adeniran Alagbada, Mrs Kemi Olaleye and Mr Lanre Fasuan, who are to serve in membership capacity.

The News Agency of Nigeria, (NAN) reports that the screening and confirmation was done during the Monday plenary session in Ado Ekiti presided over by the Speaker, Mr Funminiyi Afuye.

The Assembly members unanimously confirmed the nominees, sent by the Governor, Dr Kayode Fayemi, without much rigour due to the contributions of the nominees to the development of the state at one time or the other.

Earlier, Afuye had read a letter from the governor, requesting the concurrent approval for confirmation of the chairman and members of the state FRC.

The speaker described the nominees as fit and suitable for the job ahead, while motion for their confirmation was moved by Chief Gboyega Aribisogan, the Majority Leader (APC) and seconded by Adegoke Olajide, Efon Constituency (APC).

Speaking on behalf of members, the newly confirmed chairman of FRC said his commission would ensure transparency and prudent management of public funds in Ekiti.

NAN reports that the Assembly also adopted the report of its Committee on Judiciary and Legal Matters, submitted by its Chairman, Mr. Tajudeen Akingbolu.

Also, the speaker announced that the Assembly would proceed on four weeks’ recess commencing from Tuesday, June 30. (NAN)

– Jun. 29, 2020 @ 13:09 GMT |

(Visited 71 times, 1 visits today)
Click Banner for Details