Second List of Ministerial Nominees Submitted to the Senate

Bukola Saraki


Names of new 16 ministerial nominees submitted to the Senate by President Muhammadu Buhari on Monday, October 12

PRESIDENT Muhammadu Buhari submitted the second list of ministerial nominees to Bukola Saraki, Senate president, on Monday, October 12. Buhari sent the second list two weeks after the first one containing 21 names, was received on September 30. The second list of ministerial nominees sent to the Senate contains 16 names.

Saraki, who received the list, revealed the names on those on the list on Tuesday, October 13.

Prominent among those whose names on the list include Isaac Adewole, former vice-chancellor of the University of Ibadan; Heineken Lokpobiri, a former senator and former speaker of the Bayelsa State House of Assembly; James Ocholi, SAN, who recently contested for the All Progressives Congress, APC, governorship ticket in Kogi State but lost to Abubakar Audu and Anthony Anwuka, a professor of education administration, who was secretary to the government of Imo State.

Other nominees are Claudius Omoyele Daramola, a professor of sociology of education, from Ondo State; Aisha Abubakar; Mansur Dan Ali, a retired brigadier-general and Okechukwu Enilamah, chief executive officer of African Capital Alliance.

The rest are Adamu Adamu, a former editor of New Nigerian; Khadijah Abba Ibrahim, wife of Senator Bukar Abba Ibrahim, a former governor of Yobe State.

Born on May 5, 1954, Adewole is former president of the African Organisation for Research and Training in Cancer. Prior to his appointment as the 11th substantive vice-chancellor of the University, he had served as provost, College of Medicine, University of Ibadan. His research interest is in the area of Human papillomavirus, HIV and Gynaecologic oncology, a specialised field of medicine that focuses on cancers of the female reproductive system, including ovarian cancer, uterine cancer, vaginal cancer, cervical cancer, and vulvar cancer. Adeleke is a member of the governing council and currently chairs the National Panel on Cervical Cancer Control Policy. He hails from Ilesha, Osun State.

Lokpobiri was born March 3, 1967. As senator, he was appointed to committees on Sports, Public Accounts, Police Affairs, Niger Delta and Millennium Development Goals. In 1994, he received an LL.B (Hons) from Rivers State University of Science and Technology, Port Harcourt, Rivers state, and got his BL in 1995.

Daramola, a professor of Sociology of Education in the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences of the University of Ilorin, hails from Ode Aye in Okitipupa Local Government Area of Ondo State. He graduated from the University of Sokoto, did his Master’s degree at the University of Ilorin and the doctorate degree at the University of Ilorin where he now lectures.

—  Oct 13, 2015 @ 13:45 GMT


(Visited 8 times, 1 visits today)