Senate Approves 18 Ministers

Udo Udoma, minister of Budget and National Planning


After a rigorous screening exercise of questioning, the Senate on Wednesday approves and confirms all the 18 nominees who appear before them

THE Senate formally confirmed 18 ministerial nominees as ministers of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

Those confirmed include Udoma Udo Udoma, a former senator; John Kayode Fayemi, former governor of Ekiti State; Audu Ogbe, a former minister of agriculture in the first republic; Christopher Ogbonnaya Onu, former governor of old Abia State and Osagie Ehanire, a surgeon.

Others were Abdurahman Dambazau, a retired lieutenant-general; Lai Mohammed, national publicity secretary of the ruling All Progressives Congress; Amina J. Mohammed, a special adviser to Ban Ki Moon, secretary general of the United Nations; Suleiman Adamu, a civil engineer from Jigawa State and Ibrahim Jibril, from Nasarawa State.


The rest are Babatunde Fashola, former governor of Lagos State; Aisha Alhassan, a former senator; Chris Ngige, former governor of Abia State; Kemi Adeosun, a former commissioner in Ogun State; Abubakar Malami, SAN; Solomon Dalong, SAN and human rights activist; Ibe Kachikwu, managing director of the National Nigerian Petroleum Corporation and Hadi Sirika, a pilot and former senator.

The Senate stepped down the screening of the two others nominees slated for Wednesday, October 14 until Thursday, 15.

Both Chiuike Amaechi, former governor of Rivers State and Adebayo Shittu, a lawyer from Oyo State are expected to be screened on Thursday when the Senate resumes its plenary.

— Oct 14, 2015 @ 17:45 GMT


(Visited 12 times, 1 visits today)