Yakubu Appointed New INEC Chairman



PRESIDENT Muhammadu Buhari has appointed Mahmud Yakubu, a professor of political history and international studies, as new chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC.

The appointment was confirmed at the emergency Council of State meeting held at the Presidential Villa on Wednesday, October 21.

Governor Aminu Tambuwal of Sokoko State, who briefed State House correspondents after the meeting, said the appointment of the new INEC boss was in line with relevant provisions of the 1999 Constitution and in consultation with the Council of State.

He said Amina zakari, acting chairman of the commission, would now serve as INEC Commissioner representing the North-West.

The new positions and ratification by the council of state are as follows:

Yakubu, an idigene of Bauchi State, was until his appointment executive secretary of the Tertiary Education Trust Fund. He is also an expert in guerrilla warfare, terrorism and counter-terrorism.

Buhari had appointed Zakari as the acting chairman of the INEC following the conclusion of the term of office of Attahiru Jega, a professor of political science.

The following were also appointed as INEC commissioners:

Amina Zakari (Jigawa) – North-West

Antonla Taiye Okoosi (Kogi) – North-Central

Baba Shettima Arfo (Borno) – North-East

Mohammed Mustafa (Edo) – South-South

Soyebi Adedeji Solomon (Ogun) – South-East

The council also resolved that Lawrence Nwuruku, who is currently representing the South-East, should continue in the position.

—  Oct 21, 2015 @ 14:00 GMT


(Visited 5 times, 1 visits today)