Senate confirms 3 additional INEC REC

THE Senate on Thursday confirmed the appointment of three additional Independent National Electoral Commission(INEC) Resident Electoral Commissioners, bringing the number to 10.

Those confirmed were Dr Bumi Omoseyindem(Lagos), Dr Anugbum Onuoha(Rivers) and Mr Abubakar Dambo (Zamfara).

Their confirmation followed the adoption of a motion by the Senate Leader, Sen. Opeyemi Bamidele (APC-Ekiti Central) at the Committee of the Whole.

Presenting the motion, Bamidele urged the Senate to consider the request of President Bola Tinubu for the confirmation of the appointment.

Prior to the screening and confirmation, the Senate suspended its rule 12 and allowed access of the nominees and their guests into the chamber.

The Senior Special Assistant to the President on National Assembly Matters (Senate), Sen. Abdullahi Gumel, led the nominees into the chamber.

Thereafter, nominees individually took turns to give highlights of their career profiles and professional experiences, before their eventual confirmation.


November 2, 2023 @ 20:25 GMT|