16 political parties to contest LG elections in Yobe – YOSIEC

Yobe State Independent Electoral Commission

THE Yobe State Independent Electoral Commission (YOSIEC), on Friday said that 16 political parties would contest the local government elections in the state slated for Dec. 5.

Dr. Mamman Mohammed, YOSIEC Chairman, said this at a news conference in Damaturu.

Mohammed said that among the parties are: APGA, SDP, APP, ZLP, LP, APC, APM, ACCORD, YPP, NNPP, and PRP.

“Recall that during the declaration of notice by the commission, I revealed the schedule of events leading to the Dec 5, elections.

”However, after a series of representations from the election stakeholders, and taking into consideration the elaborate plans needed to comply with COVID-19 protocols, the commission is compelled to review the schedule.

“A revised schedule dated Sept. 4, is hereby released. This new schedule overrides and replaces the Sept. 1, time table,” he said.

Mohammed urged stakeholders to take note of the changes in the new schedule and gave the assurance that they would be kept posted on all the latest developments. (NAN)

– Sept. 8, 2020 @ 11:45 GMT |

Click Banner for Details