APC prunes down presidential aspirants to two

Tinubu and Osinbajo

By Kennedy Nnamani

AS the leading All Progressives Congress, APC, delegates converge in Abuja for the primaries, the atmosphere is tensed for the political gladiators and the presidential aspirants.

The question on who bears the flag of the ruling party for the 2023 poll gets even tougher as the governors had submitted five names to the president.

According to The Nation, the Governors in the early hours of Tuesday proposed a five-man list of aspirants to President Muhammadu Buhari to consider for consensus.

Those initially proposed were Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu; Vice President Yemi Osinbajo; Rotimi Amaechi; Governor Kayode Fayemi and Governor Dave Umahi.

However, they reportedly pruned the list to three aspirants with Tinubu, Osibanjo and Amaechi making list.

While the proposal is not a binding decision but a suggestion to Buhari, other aspirants, particularly Kayode Fayemi and Yahaya Bello, are kicking, saying that they are still in the race.

Senator Kabiru Gaya, an APC Senator representing Kano South constituency, told Channels TV at the convention ground that the number of the aspirants has been trimmed further to two; namely Vice President Yemi Osinbajo and Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu.