Godswill Akpabio emerges President of 10th Senate 

Tue, Jun 13, 2023
By editor


By Tennyson Sampson

THE former Governor of Akwa Ibom State and Minority leader in the eight Senate, Godswill Akpabio, has emerged as the President of the newly inaugurated 10th Senate.

The Clerk of the National Assembly, who conducted the election, declared Sen. Akpabio, who garnered 63 votes the winner and new President of the Senate, while his rival Senator-elect and former Governor of Zamfara State, Abdulazeez Yari, got 46 votes.

Sen. Akpabio was the governor of Akwa Ibom State in 2007 and served for two terms. Before becoming a governor. Akpabio served as a commissioner in three different key ministries under Governor Victor Attah.

Generally known as uncommon transformer in Akwa Ibom , Sen, Akpabio was known to have established the Ibom Airport, a world class International stadium, Ibom Specialist Hospital, The Tropicana Mall, a well-furnished E-Library, a four point Hotel, several flyover Bridges, a good number of road networks and numerous other projects in the state.

Senator Akpabio was in 2019 appointed the Minister of Niger Delta Affairs (MNDA) and under his watch, some ongoing projects were completed, including the completion and commissioning of 13 and 8 storey buildings at the NDDC headquarters.

In the build up to the just concluded general elections, Senator Akpabio resigned his appointment as the Minister of MNDA to pursue his ambition to contest for the position of the president of Nigeria. He stepped down during the APC primaries for Bola Tinubu, and sought to return to the Senate.

Sen. Akpabio won the election to return to the senate, beating his closest competitor Enoidem Emmanuel of PDP.