OAUSTECH receives Seeding Labs’ 2020 Instrumental Access Award


Hits: 2

THE Olusegun Agagu University of Science and Technology, OAUSTECH, Okitipupa is formerly known as Ondo State University of Science and Technology, OSUSTECH, has won the 2020 Seeding Labs Instrumental Access Program Scientific Equipment award.

The Department of Biological Sciences at OAUSTECH is one of the 18 outstanding departments at universities in 10 countries across the globe chosen by Seeding Labs to receive scientific equipment through the Seeding Labs’ 2020 Instrumental Access program. The selection of awardees for the donation of science equipment was carried out through a highly competitive and rigorous selection process.

According to Christina Viola Srivastava, the Director of Programmes at Seeding Labs, “the 2020 Instrumental Access awardees were selected for their potential to solve problems and change lives through science.”

Speaking in the same vein, Melissa P. Wu, the Seeding Labs’ CEO, stated that “it’s critical that all scientists around the world have the tools they need to solve problems that impact us all.”

In his remarks, OAUSTECH’s Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Sunday R. Ogunduyile, expressed his delight at the development, stressing that the university would always be grateful to Seeding Labs for the donation of a large quantity of scientific equipment.

He lauded the feat and asserted that the award is another milestone in the quest to make OAUSTECH a hub of research and innovation.

The Vice-Chancellor expressed deep appreciation to the Governor of Ondo State, Arakunrin Oluwarotimi Odunayo Akeredolu, SAN, for introducing the Seeding Labs’ Equipment donation program to the University and for the governor’s provision of tremendous support (financial and technical expertise) at every stage of the application process. He stated that this was a clear indication of Governor Akeredolu’s passion for the enhancement of quality of education in Ondo State.

The Vice-Chancellor also thanked the Ondo State Commissioner for Education, Science and Technology, Femi Agagu, and the Chairman of Council of OAUSTECH, Prof. Akinbo Adesomoju, for their immense contributions to make the application a success. He further expressed deep appreciation to Prof. Aina O. Adeogun of the Department of Zoology, University of Ibadan for her selfless and unquantifiable contributions to the successful outcome of the application for Seeding Labs’s 2020 Instrumental Access Program Scientific Equipment Award.

In a chat with newsmen the lead Researcher/featured scientist of the team that won the award for the University, Prof Funmilola Agbebi and her co-recipient, Dr. Soji O. Fakoya were happy with the development stating that it was quite rewarding that they received this award as one of the 2020 Seeding Labs awardees for OAUSTECH and thanked the Governor, Arakunrin Oluwarotimi Akeredolu for all the assistance given to them and the institution towards receiving this award.

Olusegun Agagu University of Science and Technology, Okitipupa is a State owned University with a mission to provide sound scientific, technological and professional training, identify technological needs and problems, solve them within the context of community and national needs and sustainable development.

– June 34, 2020 @ 13:40 GMT |

Click Banner for Details