Tinubu seeks Senate’s confirmation of 4 board members of SEC

Wed, May 15, 2024
By editor


PRESIDENT Bola Tinubu has asked the Senate to screen and confirm four persons appointed as board members of the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC).

The President’s request is contained in a letter read by the Senate President, Godswill Akpabio during the plenary on Wednesday.

The appointed members of the SEC are; Emomotimi Agama, Frana Chukwuogor, Bola Ajomale and Samiya Hassan-Usman.

While Agama was appointed as Director-General, Chukwuogor will serve as Executive Commissioner (Legal and Enforcement) of the Security and Exchange Commission.

Ajomale was appointed as Executive Commissioner (Operations) while  Hassan-Usman was appointed  as Executive Commissioner (Corporate Services).

In the letter,  the President explained that the appointment complied with the provisions of section of section (1) of the Investment and Security Act of 2007.

The Senate President thereafter referred the request to the Senate Committee on Capital Markets to report back to the Senate within two weeks.

In April, Tinubu had approved the appointment of seven persons as members of the SEC pending their confirmations by the  Senate.

However, only four names were transmitted to the Senate for confirmation and Tinubu did not give reasons for not including the names of the other three professionals.(NAN)


-May 15, 2024 @ 17:32 GMT|