West Africa Monetary Zone elects Emefiele as Chairman


GODWIN Emefiele, governor, Central Bank of Nigeria, CBN, has been elected as chairman of the West Africa Monetary Zone, WAMZ, at the ongoing sub-regional meeting being hosted by Nigeria.

Shortly after the unanimous election, Emefiele, in his acceptance speech, averred that “a lot of work needs to be done, especially in respect of the attainment of ECOWAS single currency by 2020.”  He further noted that everything that is required to be done would be actualised towards the achievements of the objectives of the regional organisation.

While reiterating Nigeria’s unflinching commitment towards the single currency project in the sub-region, the CBN Governor urged member countries to work towards achieving the convergence criteria.

West Africa Monetary Zone is for Central Banks and common currency for the six WAMZ countries – Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Liberia, Nigeria and Sierra Leon

– Sept. 13, 2018 @ 18:15 GMT |


Click Banner for Details