Big Winners, Big Losers

Fri, Dec 26, 2014
By publisher

Featured, Winners & Losers


THE year 2014 recorded a lot of big time winners and losers in all sectors in the country starting with politics, socio-economic, and so on. President Goodluck Jonathan and Muhammadu Buhari were winners in the year as they emerged as the presidential candidates of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP and All Progressives Congress, APC, respectively.

All the governorship and National Assembly candidates who won the tickets of their different political party to contest 2015 elections were among the winners in 2014. They include Okezie Ikpeazu of Abia State, Emeka Ihedioha of Imo State, Governor Ibikunle Amosun of Ogun State, Nasir El Rufai of Kaduna State, Nuhu Ribadu, former chairman of EFCC and PDP guber candidate in Adamawa among others.


Losing out in the political contest were AbdulJelil Tafawa-Balewa, son of the late Tafawa-Balewa, former Nigerian prime minister, who jettisoned his ambition to contest the presidential primaries against Jonathan having been persuaded by the party hierarchy that he had as much a chance as a snow in the hell.

Four prominent individuals who contested the primaries against Buhari were similarly made to lick their wounds as the retired general beat his opponent hands-down. They were, Atiku Abubakar, former vice-president, Governor Rabiu Kwankwaso of Kano State, Governor Rochas Okorocha of Imo State and Sam Nda-Isaiah, publisher of Leadership newspaper.

  • Stella Oduah, former minister of Aviation, is among the losers as she was  removed by President Jonathan because of her alleged role in the purchase of two bullet-proof cars for N255 million.
  • Sanusi Lamido Sanusi lost his job as governor of Central Bank of Nigeria for daring to criticise the government of President Jonathan, on February 20.
  • Sanusi Lamido Sanusi, former governor of Central Bank of Nigeria, won the race for the post Emir of Kano, following the death of Ayo Bayero on Friday, June 6. Sanusi defeated three other contestants on Sunday, June 8.
  • On June 21, Ayodele Fayose, former governor of Ekiti State, was a winner in the gubernatorial contest. He defeated Kayode Fayemi, the then incumbent governor, at the poll.
  • Osundare

    Governor Murtala Nyako of Adamawa State lost the struggle with the state House of Assembly on July 7, when he was impeached. He was replaced by Ahmadu Fintiri, speaker of the House of Assembly, who eventually lost out to James Ngilari, former deputy governor

  • On July 13, Germany was the winner at this year World Cup held in Brazil by defeating Argentina, 1-0 at the final.
  • Between September 6 and October 2, Nigeria Guild of Editors, lost three of its fellows to the cold hands of death.
  • On July 13, Germany was the winner at this year World Cup held in Brazil by defeating Argentina, 1-0 at the final.
  • Governor Raufu Aregbesola of Osun State, retained his governorship seat in the election held on August 9. The loser in the election was Iyiola Omisore of the PDP. But Omisore is not a gracious loser; he is still in court fighting his loss.
  • Nigeria was a loser as qualification for the African Cup of Nations ended in November.
  • Niyi Osundare, professor of English language, poet and social critic emerged 71st national merit award winner and was conferred with the honour on him at a ceremony in Abuja on Thursday, December 4.
  • Aminu Tambuwal, speaker of the House of Representatives, won the APC governorship ticket in Sokoto State. Akinwumi Ambode, an accountant, won the APC ticket in Lagos, while Jimi Agbaje, a pharmacist, won the PDP ticket in Lagos State. Umana Umana, former secretary to the state government, won the APC in Akwa Ibom, while Udom Emmanuel, also a former secretary to the state government, won the PDP governorship ticket in the state.
  • Agbaje

    In the primaries in the National Assembly, David Mark, Senate president won the ticket to contest under the PDP; Ike Ekweremadu, deputy Senate president, won the ticket as well, to return to the Senate. But Victor Ndoma-Egba, Senate leader, could not get a ticket back for a re-contention. Goodwill Akpabio, Gabriel Suswan and Jonah Jang governors of Akwa Ibom, Benue and Plateau states won the tickets to contest senate seats in their states.

— Jan. 5, 2015 @ 01:00 GMT